Clean Black Forest Cupcakes

design-33

Today is my Dad’s birthday and we are getting together to celebrate! I love birthdays! I love taking one special day a year to stop and remember all of the things you love and appreciate about a person. I think it’s really important to take the chance to make someone feel loved and cared for! Birthdays are also special to me because they are steeped in tradition and I LOVE tradition! I love taking the time to select the perfect thoughtful gift, I love decorating with balloons and streamers, and I LOVE eating birthday cake!

My Dad happens to favour the exceptionally delicious flavour of Black Forest Cake. I know that at least once a year I will get to indulge in this cherry chocolatey goodness.

This year however, I am smack in the middle of “The 8 Week Challenge”. The challenge requires the participants to abstain from sugar of any kind for at least 8 weeks! (longer if you so wish) I’ve talked about my love for this program before in previous posts. Although I’ve been feeling awesome on the program with little to no sugar cravings, I have been thinking about that Black Forest Cake!

I began imagining myself at the party gnawing on a celery stick while the rest of my family indulged in the delicious Black Forest Cake!

Then…..I had an idea! Maybe I could try to make my own “Clean” Black Forest Cake! I started to search online for healthy versions of this delectable dessert without much luck. I went over to my favourite clean eating website: Against All Grain, and wouldn’t you know, she had a recipe for this very dessert! Danielle, you’ve come through for me again! 🙂 I did make one substitution in her original recipe. She calls for honey, but honey is not permitted on the challenge so I substituted it for date butter and it turned out great!

Ingredients:

4 Large eggs
1/4 Cup date butter
1 Tsp vanilla
1/4 Cup melted coconut butter
1/4 Cup coconut milk
1/4 Cup coconut flour
1/4 Cup almond flour
1/4 Cup cacao powder
1 Tsp baking soda
1/2 Tsp sea salt
1/2 Cup red cherries, pitted

Cherry Filling:
3/4 Cup red cherries, pitted
2 Tbsp date butter

Icing:
(In the original recipe, Danielle uses coconut whipped cream which is delicious. However, coconut whipped cream must be consumed almost immediately after it is made or it starts to melt. I needed these cupcakes to be able to last for a 30 minute car ride. I came up with this alternate icing recipe. It’s not the traditional “whipped cream” icing found on most Black Forest Cakes but it is delicious none the less!

My Icing:
(This icing has a rich, dark chocolate flavour. If you don’t like the flavour of dark chocolate you may want to stick with the whipped cream recipe)
2 Cups dates (soften in hot water if they are not fresh)
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1 tbsp melted coconut oil

Blend all ingredients in a food processor or high speed blender.   Blend really well.  You don’t want this to be chunky!

Whipped Cream Icing:

2 Cans coconut milk refrigerated for at least 24 hours

Place a glass bowl in the fridge for at least 30 minutes so the bowl is cold.  Scrape off only the cream that has risen to the top of the can.  Try to avoid getting the liquid.  Beat on high until peaks form.  Serve immediately.

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 350F. Line cupcake pan with cupcake liners. In a food processor or blender combine all wet ingredients. Slowly add the coconut flour, cacao powder, baking soda and salt and process well. Add the whole cherries and pulse 2-3 times until they are roughly chopped. Pour the batter into the cupcake papers filling each 3/4 full.

Put ingredients of cherry filling in a small pan and simmer for 15 minutes on medium heat. The cherries will be soft and much of the liquid will have evaporated.

Bake for 15-20 minutes. Once they cupcakes have cooled use an apple corer or just a pairing knife to remove a quarter size piece from the middle of the cupcake. Fill each cupcake with the cherry filling and then pipe icing on top.

These cupcakes are as good as they look! I am so so so pleased with the way they turned out! This recipe is the perfect proof that eating “clean” doesn’t mean going without your favourite treats!

I hope you love these cupcakes!!

XO, Pam
http://www.cleanlifehappywife.com

If you would like to receive more recipes just like this one, click to subscribe on the top right hand corner of the blog!

Leave a Reply

